County Convention to Elect Delegates

Delegate Selection for the 2012 Democratic National Convention starts March 10 in Knox County

Local Democrats to host County Convention to begin delegate elections

The Knox County Democratic Party will host a County Convention at 12 p.m. CST / 1 p.m. EST on March 10 at the City County Building Main Auditorium. This convention will begin the District-Level Delegate elections for the 2012 Democratic National Convention.

Registration begins at 11 a.m. CST / 12 p.m. EST and doors close promptly at 12 p.m. CST / 1 p.m. EST.

The local convention is open to all registered voters in Knox County who sign a Democratic Pledge of Support form during registration.

Democrats wishing to become a District-Level Delegate to the 2012 Democratic National Convention must vote in the March 6 Democratic Primary and declare their candidacy by filling out a Statement of Candidacy and Pledge of Support form available at www.TNDP.org.

Forms may be requested by phone at (615) 327-9779. Completed forms must be returned to the state Party by 12 p.m. CST March 1 by fax at (615) 891-7453 or by mail at TNDP, 1900 Church St., Suite 203, Nashville, TN 37203.

On March 10, participants at the county convention will elect a group of county representatives to attend a Congressional District Convention to be held on March 24.

As a group representing Knox County, only these elected participants will be eligible to vote at Congressional District-Level Conventions.

Congressional District Conventions will include representatives from every county in the U.S. House district based on 2010 lines. Participants will elect District-Level Delegates for the Democratic National Convention.

Locations for the Congressional District Conventions will be announced at the local county convention.




Leave a Reply