Gold House’s 2021 A100 list pays tribute to Kamala Harris, Naomi Osaka, and more

Amid historic levels of anti-Asian violence, this is crucial Pacific Island Asian-American Heritage Month not only to come together against racism, but to raise stories of joy that show the fullness of the AAPI experience. In May, Teen Vogue shines a light on that full spectrum, from the story you aren’t taught in school to the cultural contributions we’d all be worse off without.

As AAPI Heritage Month kicks off in May, Gold House announced its A100 list of the most influential leaders in Asia and the Pacific Islands.

In a May 3 statement, Gold House, a nonprofit collective of cultural leaders from Asia and the Pacific Islands, announced this year A100 Laureates, including Vice President Kamala Harris, artist Olivia Rodrigo, athlete Naomi Osaka, actor Maitreyi Ramakrishnan, the co-founders of Stop AAPI Hate and many other influential people across all industries.

This AAPI Heritage Month comes amid historic levels of violence against the community and heightened racism resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. This racism and violence is nothing new, but has received more media coverage in recent times as public incidents escalate. While it is important to shine a light on these experiences, it is equally imperative that the joy and success of AAPI is also enhanced – which is the goal of the A100 list.

“Recognizing the accomplishments of the AAPI community couldn’t be more timely than now,” Daniel Dae Kim, actor, activist and judge A100 Icon, said in a statement. must celebrate the many ways Asian Americans contribute to our country and to the world. “

AAPI’s list of incredibly accomplished people is certainly one to celebrate. Vice President Harris made history in January when she was sworn in, making her the first black South Asian woman to hold the post. Osaka continues to break tennis records and recently beat tennis legend Serena Williams.

Also on the list is Chloe Zhao, who recently became the first woman of color to win the Oscar for Best Director for her film, Nomadland. Actor Auli’i Cravalho, K-Pop group Blackpink, YouTuber Patrick Starrr, artist Saweetie were also honored.

To see the full list of winners, head to here.

About Therese Williams

Check Also

Vice President Kamala Harris applauds Kansas voters

Vice President Kamala Harris on Thursday hailed Kansas voters as “leaders” for rejecting a constitutional …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.